#musicmonday – Talking to Girls About Duran Duran

It’s #musicmonday and yes, I’m writing about a book. I’m aware of this, so just bear with me.

Being that I am quite the voracious reader, I joined my first book club about three years ago. A friend invited me and this group of women have since become dear friends. Our book club is a great opportunity for us, many of whom are mothers, to have a night out and discuss grown up things. The majority of which are NOT the book we read that month. Sure, we talk about it and share our opinions, but we mostly chat about our lives and other experiences.

Anyway, last month’s selection was Talking to Girls About Duran Duran by Rob Sheffield. The title alone should tell you why this book is being included in #musicmonday.

bookcover2

Sheffield is a writer and editor for Rolling Stone and within the first chapter, I realized that this guy is way more obsessed with music than even me. Which is probably why he works for Rolling Stone. That is basically a dream job for someone who loves music and loves to write. And he sure has a flair for it.

It is not strictly about Duran Duran. It chronicles his life and the impact that music has had on him over the years. Each chapter is dedicated to a different song/band. He reminisces about where he was in his life when he first heard the songs… his adventures as a kid and young adult, his relationships with his sisters and various other girls in his life.

His story resonated with me, since music is the primary way that I rekindle memories. Certain songs, whether good or bad, remind me of different moments in my life. Remind me of various people in my life.

“Out of Touch” by Hall and Oates will always remind me of my dad, dancing with him around the house. “Brass Monkey” by The Beastie Boys will always remind of Amber, one of my best friends, and a road trip that we took to Louisville to see the band Good Charlotte. “Oops, I Did It Again” by Britney Spears will always remind me of my friend Nick, who was and still is Britney obsessed. “Someday” by Nickelback will always remind me of being pregnant with Delanie. “It’s Not Over” by Daughtry will always remind me of being pregnant with Elysa. “More Than a Feeling” by Boston will always remind me of Daniel, because it’s the song that he belts as loudly as possible every time that he hears it. “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” will always remind me of playing on my patio in the summer when I was a little girl.

Is there a rhyme or reason for these? Some, but certainly not all. Many of them were just songs that happened to be playing at specific moments. That’s often how it goes.

This book was a fun read and I’m now anxious to check out his other music-inspired books. If you appreciate music even a fraction as much as I do, I think you’ll appreciate this book.

Leave a Reply

