Why I Started Carrying Around a Notebook

I’ve wanted to become more diligent with this blogging thing, but in my experience, the majority of my writing ideas come at the most inopportune times. Cooking dinner, watching a movie in the theater, driving, sitting on the toilet… you get the idea.

Why I can’t have a rush of inspiration when I’m sitting at my laptop, I have no idea. But it is what it is.

I can’t continue to allow a lack of ideas to be an excuse as to why I haven’t been writing anything substantial, because the ideas are there, just not when I want them to be.

So I started carrying around a notebook everywhere I go. Nothing huge, one that fits in my purse or that I can tuck into the waist of my yoga pants when I’m doing work around the house. Just a little place where I can jot down ideas as they pop into my head.

IMAG0818_1

My little sanity saver

But since this began, I realized that this little notebook has a myriad of other uses.

My brain just isn’t what it used to be before I had kids. I’m always forgetting and misplacing things.

The car keys when I’m already holding them in my hand, my sunglasses when they’re sitting on top of my head, and numerous other things that disappear for days at a time. Or I’ll walk into a room and wonder why I went in there in the first place.

The worst, though, is when I forget what I was thinking about. When words evaporate into thin air, mid-sentence. I will start lecturing a kid and then forget what my point was, which is a SUPER effective parenting method, let me tell you.

So this little notebook of mine? Is now collecting thoughts and ideas and lists of things to buy from the grocery store, before they’re given the chance to fall into the black hole that my mind has become and never return.

Needless to say, my husband is quite supportive of the notebook because it means that he gets his razors and Ding Dongs in a timely manner.

Better yet, the notebook has also become a memory book of sorts for the kids. When they do or say something particularly cute or funny, it goes in the book. Their first experiences with something, they go in the book. I have a feeling that it will be getting a lot of use during our vacation next month.

There are days when I feel completely spent as a parent and I need a reminder of why I do this everyday. The notebook is that reminder. It keeps me sane, it keeps me organized, it keeps me grounded.

So fellow parents, especially those of you who often run around chaotically like I do, give the notebook a try. It’s one of the best ideas that I’ve had. And I’m grateful every day that I did.

Leave a Reply

